Mount Everest Foundation
Supporting the exploratory

British Taulliraju South Face 1982

Christopher Watts and Michael Fowler succeeded at their second attempt on the first ascent of the E Pillar of the S face of Taulliraju in May 1982, with 5 bivouacs on the face which presented 'extremely sustained difficulties' on rock, ice and snow. Other members of the 7-person team made various ascents in the same area of the Coraillera Blanca.

May 1982
Michael Fowler with M B Morrison, C Watts, A McKee, M F O'Brien, Dr J English and Dr J Zangwill from Britain

Other expeditions nearby